BracGypsy
(Registered User)
Wed Sep 29 2010 09:55 PM
Re: Wave in Western Caribbean May Form Today. Rain For Southeast Florida

Poster: Lamar-Plant City.{Not hearing much about that 'secondary' system at this time....is that out of the models now?}

Lamar, I haven't been around this site long enough to find my way around yet. I am still learning about all this. But I checked the Secondary system out' it's showing on the Noaa site now, and there's another following that one too. The first one says it's a Tropical wave over the central Atlantic' located about 700 miles from the Windward islands. It also says there's only a 10 present chance of this system becoming a tropical cyclone during the next 48 hours. The second System says about the same other than it's 850 miles from the Windward islands.

I like to keep up with hurricanes since this little island seems to attract them. The Brac was hit really bad on November 8th 2008 with a hurricane called Paloma. Some of us are still rebuilding from that one. It was a Cat 4 with Cat 5 in gust. When that monster got through with us, this little island looked as if a A bomb when off on it. About 95% of all homes an buildings here' either lost all their roofs, and walls or parts. About 95% of all electric polls when down. Most of the island was without electric power for over 4 months. We had electric generators running for all that time" plus'. We have here 1500 population. What a mess that hurricane was, So I can't think of anyone here who really cares to see another hurricane. Check online google, "Paloma" hit Image. There's still photos up of the devastation here. We are thankful no one was killed.