F
Current Radar or Satellite Image

Flhurricane.com - Central Florida Hurricane Center - Tracking Storms since 1995Hurricanes Without the Hype! Since 1995

Chill falls over the Atlantic as the official season heads towards close
Days since last H. Landfall - US: Any 211 (Idalia) , Major: 211 (Idalia) Florida - Any: 211 (Idalia) Major: 211 (Idalia)
None
COMMUNICATION
STORM DATA
CONTENT
FOLLOW US
ADS
Login to remove ads

Off-Topic >> Everything and Nothing

Jump to first unread post. Pages: 1
MickeyM

Reged: Sun
Your Input is Needed for Water Purifier Design!
      #74297 - Sun Feb 04 2007 09:51 AM

Hello,

I am an engineering student currently working on a design project involving water purification. The end product is intended to provide a source of fresh drinking water for victims of natural disasters when electric and water service is unavailable. If our design is good enough, it could actually be produced and made available in the future.

The idea is to have a unit that could purify flood, rain, ocean or lake water to be completely safe to drink. In the process, odor and bad taste could be greatly reduced or eliminated. To be practical for disaster relief, it will require no electricity or batteries, instead relying on human-power. This could be a foot pump or crank, for example.

If you would be willing to answer a few questions about how you think our product should work, it will greatly help my team make good design decisions!

1. Size
Would it be better to have a a very small "personal use" unit? Something larger but suitable for a family? Or a very large unit that could handle the needs of a large number of people, but would be sized (and priced) such that perhaps only government agencies would have them?

2. Cost