F
Current Radar or Satellite Image

Flhurricane.com - Central Florida Hurricane Center - Tracking Storms since 1995Hurricanes Without the Hype! Since 1995

The 2024 Atlantic Hurricane Season Begins on June 1st and lasts until Nov 30th. NHC Outlooks resume on May 15th..
Days since last H. Landfall - US: Any 238 (Idalia) , Major: 238 (Idalia) Florida - Any: 238 (Idalia) Major: 238 (Idalia)

News Talkback >> 2002 News Articles and Talkback

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | >> (show all)
clyde w.
Storm Tracker

Reged:
Loc: Orlando, FL
Re: Isidore and Josephine forms. Forecasting Nightmare Deluxe
      #3732 - Wed Sep 18 2002 01:49 PM

One of the things that Bastardi often talks about is teleconnection (what's happening in the Pacific tends to teleconnect to what will happen in the Atlantic). As a novice, I'm not about to say I follow all of that, but its interesting to see that the TS in the east pac was forecast to move WNW away from the Mexican coast, but instead has moved northwest and is now forecast to move almost due North in time...so it really never followed forecast either...also never strengthened that much, but that probably doesn't relate as directly to Izzy.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Anonymous
Unregistered

#3733 - Wed Sep 18 2002 01:57 PM

This mornings path is west of where it was last night not east. All guidance shows it just off the western tip of Cuba in 72hrs. Most show it in the central Gulf thereafter with no recurving to the northeast. The first trough will definitley miss and the second probably will miss. If it does, then all bets are off and Izzy can strike anywhere, but best bets are now on the north central gulf. Looking at past seasons, there is usally a seasonal trend in the paths of storms and this year is directed towards the northern Gulf.

Colleen A.

Reged:
Loc: Florida
Rolaids, Anyone?
      #3734 - Wed Sep 18 2002 02:03 PM