F
Current Radar or Satellite Image

Flhurricane.com - Central Florida Hurricane Center - Tracking Storms since 1995Hurricanes Without the Hype! Since 1995

2024's Atlantic name list reuses 2018s, with Milton replacing Michael, and Francine Replacing Florence.
Days since last H. Landfall - US: Any 247 (Idalia) , Major: 247 (Idalia) Florida - Any: 247 (Idalia) Major: 247 (Idalia)

News Talkback >> 2005 News Talkbacks

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | >> (show all)
engicedave
Weather Hobbyist

Reged:
Loc:
Re: Vortex message [Re: weatherwatcher2]
      #58882 - Wed Oct 19 2005 12:37 AM

Hello, idiot noob here
Been lurking awhile though, found this place last year

My question for the hurricane wizards is:
"How does the storm intensity affect the steering of the storm?"

For example, in reading all the posts in this thread there is quite a bit of mention about how west Wilma is in relation to when the trough picks it up, that that would make her go more southerly

BUT, if she is at a high (extreme) intensity, would that not correct some of that westerly movement in relation to the overall long-term forecast track?
I mean, since it's so strong, will that intensity counteract any westerly movements and that is why the track is where it is, because they pre-planned this level of intensity from the beginning?

Thanks,
Your new stupid noob
Dave
Boynton Beach, FL
Projected exit point off the east coast for Wilma

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
sara33
Weather Guru

Reged:
Loc: St. Pete,
Re: Check This Out... [Re: Colleen A.]
      #58883 - Wed Oct 19 2005 12:39 AM

WOW.. Thats interesting! Thanks Coleen:)

Re: the models further North. Yeah, I see that as well

Thunderbird12
Meteorologist

Reged:
Loc: Oklahoma
Re: Accuweather Post [Re: CaneTrackerInSoFl]
      #58884 - Wed Oct 19 2005 12:40 AM