F
Current Radar or Satellite Image

Flhurricane.com - Central Florida Hurricane Center - Tracking Storms since 1995Hurricanes Without the Hype! Since 1995

Special Tropical Weather Outlook issued for area in the East-Central Atlantic, only with 10% chance for development, not expected to do much.
Days since last H. Landfall - US: Any 241 (Idalia) , Major: 241 (Idalia) Florida - Any: 241 (Idalia) Major: 241 (Idalia)

News Talkback >> 2005 News Talkbacks

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | >> (show all)
vineyardsaker
Weather Guru

Reged:
Loc: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Re: Wilma, Category 5 and Breaking Records [Re: abyrd]
      #59315 - Wed Oct 19 2005 02:37 PM

Hi,

Being a newbie here (posting, I have lurked around since 2 years) I would very much appreciate some expert opinions on the following:

I live in New Smyrna Beach, just south of Daytona, and hurricane Charley was very bad for us: a tornado ripped through my neighbor's house and we had major damage (my family spend two quite frightening hours in a walk-in-closet). Now it does look that Wilma is taking very much a Charley-like course, except that it is bigger and stronger. Some comments here stated that Wilma might not even loose any strength at all while crossing the Florida Peninsula. So my question is:

What kind of threat is Volusia County looking at? Could this be a Charley+ hurricane?

We have the option of evacuating to Orlando on Sat. morning to a sturdier house but that would put us closer to the hurricane. What should we do?

Many thanks!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
scottsvb
Weather Master

Reged:
Loc: fl
Re: wilma freakshow [Re: doug]
      #59316 - Wed Oct 19 2005 02:38 PM

Still waiting on the 06Z link at the NOGAPS site.........

Frank P
Veteran Storm Chaser

Reged:
Moving SW [Re: scottsvb]
      #59317 - Wed Oct 19 2005 02:43 PM